MY TOP FIVE: TV EDITION

I am an avid TV/ Netflix watcher and am always looking for new recommendations on what to watch next. So today I thought I’d compile a list of my top five favourite TV shows.

1.  Friends

rs_500x289-150408095256-giphy

It’s safe to say that Friends is my all time favourite TV show. I love almost everything about this show from the characters, and the exceptionally well written dialogue, right down to the set design and wardrobe. Friends is a classic and I’ve honestly never met anyone who doesn’t enjoy watching the show. I first started watching back when I was in grade nine and I was instantly hooked. Now I watch the show whenever I need some background noise, when I’ve had a particularly bad day, or when I’m stuck in a Netflix rut and I have nothing else to watch.

Let’s talk about one of the most annoying aspects of the show really quick, and that aspect definitely has to be Ross Geller. This man annoys me beyond belief. The more I watch the show the more things Ross does to annoy me. He doesn’t think about anyone but himself and can never admit that someone other than him may be right for a chance. Also *spoiler alert* it doesn’t matter that “you were on a break” Ross, you still cheated on Rachel!

2. Scandal

giphy 6.16.53 PM

This six season drama has everything, political scandals, love affairs, an incredible wardrobe (I’m looking at you Olivia Pope), and even a somewhat diverse cast *yay*. In its sixth season you think you’ve seen it all but then Olivia Pope pulls out another trick from that white hat of hers and you’re in a state of shock all over again. The show did go through a bit of a lull for me within the fifth and sixth season, but with season six coming to an end and the announcement that the next season will be the last, it’s safe to say I’m over that lull and can’t wait for the seventh season to come out.

One of my favourite things about the show is the uniqueness of the characters. All the characters within the show have a complex story line and background, somehow though, they make their differences and sometimes intense backgrounds work to the shows advantage.

3. Bates Motel

giphy-1

Literally where do I even start with this show. Based on the 1960’s horror film Psycho, Bates Motel is the prequel to  Alfred Hitchcocks classic. If I had to describe this show in one word it would be creepy. Okay so basically, the show is about a mother, Norma Bates, and her son, Norman Bates, opening up a motel following the death of Norma’s husband. Things get weird real quick. Theres everything from murder, dissociative identity disorder, rape, and an incestuous relationship. Nothing about this show is normal, and Norman Bates never fails to shock me. If you enjoy watching thrillers, mild horror, and twisted relationships you’ll definitely enjoy Bates Motel. The show is actually over, with the last episode of season five airing in late April, currently though only four out of the five seasons are up on Netflix.

4. Brooklyn Nine Nine

giphy-3

There isn’t enough I can say about this show. The comedy and humour in this show is incomparable to anything that I’ve ever seen. Brooklyn Nine Nine is a great option if you’re looking for something light that you can just throw on. You don’t have to become invested in the show, like you would other shows to fully enjoy it. Every single character in the show is hilarious in their own way, and they come together to great comedy gold. There aren’t enough good things I can say about this show so I’ll leave it at that. I’d recommend this show to anyone and everyone.

5. Full House

giphy-4

Another classic. Full House is a childhood favourite that rolled over into my teenage and young adult life. I’m too young to have watched the show when it was actually going on, but I have vivid memories of watching re-runs of Full House as a kid with my cousins. They really don’t make shows like Full House anymore, don’t even get me started on the remake, Fuller House. I was really disappointed in the revival, they turned a classic, comedic childhood favourite, into a show you’d watch on Disney. The jokes are cheesy and the chemistry among the characters is almost non-existent. Anyways back to Full House, Full House is a classic, the jokes are timeless, the characters have some serious chemistry and I mean, a young John Stamos is a great addition to the mix*swoon*

Hope you enjoyed this post and that one of these recommendations caught your interest. Sorry in advance for the lack of work you’ll be able to finish if you start any of these highly addictive shows. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Hope you decide to stick around. Feel free to leave a comment below and share some of your own suggestions, or feel free to comment whatever you’d like, I’d love to chat!

xX. G

Leave a Reply

